National Youth Chamber Orchestra
National Youth
Wind Ensemble
National Children`s Wind Orchestra
National Children`s Chamber Orchestra
National Children`s Wind Sinfonia
National Children`s String Sinfonia
Other Information
Musicale Holidays

The National Youth Wind Ensemble of Great Britain (NYWE)

“One of the finest wind ensembles in the world.”
Timothy Reynish: September 2007

“A performance of remarkable collective virtuosity and outstanding musicianship that augurs extremely well for the future careers of these talented young players.”
Paul Conway: Review in the October 2009 issue of Tempo magazine, on the world premiere performance of Cloud Atlas at the 2009 Cheltenham Music Festival

“A professionalism unique in the UK and I would guess anywhere.”
Timothy Reynish: Review in the September 2007 issue of the WASBE Journal

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

The National Youth Wind Ensemble of Great Britain, conducted by Phillip Scott, is a one-player-per-part wind ensemble of about 40 players which has established an enviable international reputation since its foundation in 1998. The group specialises in the performance of music which has appeared during the last twenty-five years, although music of earlier eras is also performed.

In April 2014, NYWE will be delighted to welcome as guest conductor Cynthia Johnston Turner, who is currently Director of Wind Ensembles at Cornell University, USA. Dr Johnston Turner is looking forward to sharing NYWE's programme with Phillip Scott, when she will concentrate on important repertoire from the United States.

NYWE regularly commissions important composers, most recently Philip Grange, Joseph Phibbs, Chiu-Yu Chou, Jacques Cohen, Anthony Bailey and Michael Torke. In July 2009, NYWE gave the world premiere of Cloud Atlas at the Cheltenham Music Festival. This major new work by Philip Grange is based on the 2004 Man Booker Prize shortlisted novel by David Mitchell and last year won the Wind Band/Brass Band category in the 2010 British Composer Awards.

  • August 2000: Appearance at the BBC Proms Millennium Youth Day at the Royal Albert Hall, broadcast live on Radio 3.

  • July 2003: Concert given for the 11th International WASBE Conference in Jönköping, Sweden, with percussion soloist Colin Currie.

  • July 2007: Concert given for the 13th International WASBE Conference in Killarney, Ireland, with clarinet soloist Sarah Williamson.

  • July 2009: Concert given for the 2009 Cheltenham Music Festival.

  • July 2011: East Asia Tour – Taiwan, Hong Kong & Macau, including concerts given for the 15th International WASBE Conference in Chiayi City, Taiwan, and for the Macau Band Directors’ Association. Huw Morgan: soloist in Richard Rodney Bennett’s Concerto for Trumpet and Wind Orchestra.

Flute/Piccolo; Oboe/Cor anglais; Clarinet (Bb, Eb, alto, bass, contrabass); Bassoon/Contrabassoon; Saxophone (soprano, alto, tenor, baritone); French horn; Trumpet/Cornet; Trombone; Bass trombone; Euphonium; Tuba; Percussion.

Standard Required: Grade 8/Diploma upwards

Recent repertoire has included:

Lincolnshire Posy – Percy Grainger
Rapture – Michael Torke (NYWE commission, world premiere in Jönköping, Sweden, 2003, soloist Colin Currie)
Towards Nirvana – Adam Gorb
Dream Carousels – Anthony Gilbert
Gazebo Dances – John Corigliano
Chaises Musicales – Anthony Bailey (NYWE commission, world premiere in Cambridge, UK, 2010)
Omaggio – Michael Ball (performed live on BBC Radio 3)
Diaghilev Dances – Kenneth Hesketh
The Spiralling Night – Joseph Phibbs (NYWE commission, world premiere in Killarney, Ireland, 2007; shortlisted for the 2008 British Composer Awards)
Cloud Atlas – Philip Grange (NYWE commission, world premiere in Cheltenham, UK, 2009; winner of the Wind Band/Brass Band category in the 2010 British Composer Awards).
Dream Sun on the Sea – Chiu-Yu Chou (NYWE commission, premiere performances during the East Asia Tour, July 2011).
Javelin - Michael Torke
Childrens March - Percy Grainger
Repercussions - Adam Gorb
Autumn's Elergy - Kenneth Hesketh
Danceries (Set II) - Kenneth Hesketh
Duende - Luis Serrano Alarcón

Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Copyright © 2011 NCWO
Registered charity number 326785
Last modified: August 08, 2013